top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSummer Annette Bradley

Balancing Identities

Life can get a little chaotic. Between balancing church, work and my daughter, I'm already exhausted. Sometimes I ask myself: "Is this all I am?" Don't get me wrong, I love my daughter and my job is fulfilling, but have I forgotten about my other loves?

Planning your day is nothing new, but do you plan time to honor all of your identities? For me work and my daughter do take a big chunk out of my regular day, but that doesn't mean I should just forget about everything else I love.

So, I make sure to make a solid plan for art-making. For me, I can be satisfied with making art 2-3 times a week. For other artists, it may be an every day need. Assess what you need and be true to you. You owe it to yourself.

I also schedule date night at least twice a month, even if it just consists of an at home date after our daughter is asleep. The same goes for my social and family life. Sounds like a lot, but once I plan it and put it down on paper, it's out of my head and scheduled for future dates.

So, the answer to my above question is no, work and being a parent is only part of my identity as a whole. I can't forget about the others. I would always feel like something was missing if I did, and we all deserve to feel like we are whole.

I challenge you to assess what you need in your life. Some may say they need LESS structure. Well, that's awesome too! Make time to just wing it! Everyone's needs are different and unique to them. This is just my way. What's yours?





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page