top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSummer Annette Bradley

Is All Created ART?

This is a huge discussion/argument among scholars and theorists and has been for decades. As much as I would love to go into my art history knowledge, I am going to spin this from a personal standpoint.

I create often, almost every day. However, I wouldn't call everything I create "fine" art. Since starting my training for art therapy counseling, I have discovered that there are many different types of art, not just the fine art taught in most art schools.

Most of my art is "response" art. Meaning, I am still processing what I have learned, read, or experienced and use the art medium to help with that process. Some information can be hard to handle depending on one's intersectionality and location within a cultural context. Art can serve as a container for the knowledge, emotions connected to that knowledge, and resolutions deriving from all of the above. Art can help a person connect information on one side of the brain to the other and further insight and cognitive development. And let's be real, I am always learning new things about myself and others, so I don't see myself stopping response art anytime soon.

Another form of art that I practice is art to "sell." This art takes a completely new form as I am now considering a consumer in the art-making process instead of my own interpersonal benefits. I mass-produce items that I believe would catch the eye (and hopefully the wallet) of a non-artist. Professional artist technicality normally suffers in this artform as aesthetic elements flourish. Check out any Flea Market or College Art Sale and tell me I'm wrong.

And finally, there is "fine" art, which is where most of the "oohs" and "ahs" come from in galleries across the world. Fine art is practiced to perfection and beyond. Fine art involves years of artist studies, technical critiques, late nights and early mornings; and, maybe even death. Most of the greats weren't considered near great when they were alive. It's the truth.

And I've just barely touched the service with these three. Go out and make your own art. I'd love to hear what kind of art you make! Make sure to comment (:


Learn more about intersectionality here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViDtnfQ9FHc




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page