top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSummer Annette Bradley

Igniting Creativity

As an artist, how do you start art?

From my experience and trainings from an artist background as well as a helper's, I have concluded that the first step to create art is to find what you are passionate about. Without that passion, art can fall flat or unfinished.

I've also realized that my intention behind the art drives my passion. I ask myself these questions before creating: 1. Is this art for me or for the viewer? (Am I looking for understanding or realization vs. Am I wanting to provide an experience for the viewer rather than myself). 2. What medium am I drawn to? (Sometimes I stick to what I know and sometimes I try something completely new). 3. What do I want to put out there? (Some subjects for us that we are extremely passionate about can be hard to share with the public without further exploration or therapeutic insight. We need to be careful with ourselves and know our limits).

Then, I just start, sometimes without a plan. Art has its way to lead itself to what we need more times than not. Other times, I need to map out every line and curve to feel like I have a successful piece. Every one of my art making experiences varies from the answers to these questions from one end of the spectrum to the other. And every artwork is unique to its own accord.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page